A FRIDAY MEDITATION – Dropped Stitches

Bind us together, Lord; Bind us together with cords that cannot be broken.  Bind us together Lord; Bind us together. Bind us together with love.

This song popped into my mind, today.  It is mostly sung at camp meetings and in praise and worship services. It asks God to join the group singing into one body – the Body of Christ, and it caused me to think about broken cords or threads.  Perhaps yarn and dropped stitches.

I am knitting a new throw or shawl for my prayer chair – either the one in my bedroom where I have my morning prayer or the prayer room where my husband and I say prayers together in the evening.  I also give some spiritual direction here.  (An aside – one of my great-granddaughters, who is four years old, has dubbed it the “talking room.”  When I asked why, she said because there are chairs in it.  I imagine that is because there is no bed or TV there, but I’m guessing.  This child is an extrovert and always has something to say, constantly.  Her older sister, the introvert said, “Or it could be a reading room.”  Love it. Just in case I repeat this story too often.)

Well, back to the prayer shawl.  The pattern for this shawl is lacy but not hard, especially if I use markers to mark where the pattern changes.  Even so, every once in a while, I notice that within the pattern, I am missing a stitch and I can’t figure out where it went.  This dropped stitch does not cause the knitting to unravel and it is a fairly easy fix to add a stitch back in.  You can’t really see the mistake because of the pattern, but I know it’s there. I would need to unravel and re-knit to make the piece mistake free, so I don’t.

Sooo…, where am I going with this meditation? I’m not sure but it makes me think of God binding together into a whole. Perhaps, it shows how God binds me together when I’ve messed up or when I’m otherwise broken and not the whole person that God plans for me to be.  I’m grateful that he doesn’t unravel me back to the beginning.  I used to think that I would need this if I strayed from the mark at all.

God uses the dropped stitches to form us if we will let God do so.  God uses our mistakes, sins, and misdirections to help form us into the people God wants us to be.  How, I don’t know.  When we look inside ourselves – when I look inside myself, I can see the healed and somewhat healed scars from where stitches were dropped and remade and mended over. Sometimes, the dropped stitch is very near the beginning and, from my point of view, the whole thing needs unraveled to that point and remade.  The hole is too big.  Too painful.  Too buried.  But if I look carefully, I may see a tiny patch there that is growing to look like the perfect stitch as if the hole had never been there. This tiny patch is becoming part off, and forming me into, who I was created to be.

How does God do this?  I have no idea; I just know that God does.  Why? Same answer.  I have learned over the many years that, if we allow it – because many times the stitching hurts – the person we become, that I am becoming, is the person God dreamed me to be all along.

 “The Shepherd laughed, too. ‘I love doing preposterous things,’ he replied.  ‘Why, I don’t know anything more exhilarating and delightful than turning weaknesses into strength, and fear into faith, and that which has been marred into perfection.,’” ~ Hinds Feet on High Places

 

Leave a Reply

