A FRIDAY MEDITATION – You’re Not Alone

Taylor Caldwell wrote, “I am not alone at all, I thought. I was never alone at all. And that, of course, is the message of Christmas. We are never alone. Not when the night is darkest, the wind coldest, the world seemingly most indifferent. For this is still the time God chooses.”—Taylor Caldwell

Although it is not Christmas any more and I don’t feel alone, for some unknown reason today, I started thinking about an incident that happened when I was about four years old. I have written about it before because it made an impression on me and is a favorite memory.  Maybe it has to do with the star followed by the wise men I don’t know. I haven’t thought of this story for quite some time, so I looked for it in the archives. I want to share it again, today.

“You know that I loved, loved, LOVED! Grandma Thomas. Many times she lived with us and when she didn’t, I always wanted to go be with her.  One evening, after dark, I really needed to see her so I convinced my parents that I needed to go spend the night. This was before we had telephones so we couldn’t call to let her know that I was coming.  We didn’t have to ask if it was ok because it always was.  So, I “packed” an extra dress and dad took me to her house about five or ten minutes away by car.

“When we arrived, no one was home and the house was dark.  In those days, there was not much light to get in the way of seeing the stars and there were thousands of them to see that night.  I love looking at stars so I sat down on the front steps to observe them.  Dad said we would have to go home, but I imagined that grandma would come soon and I wanted to stay.  After a few minutes, when she did not come, dad said we had to go.  Somehow, I convinced him to leave me on the steps of her front porch and he drove off down the long lane.

“While I sat waiting for her to come, I watched the twinkling stars and I didn’t feel lonely. I began to be a bit chilly since I hadn’t brought a sweater, so for warmth, I put on my extra dress over the one I was wearing. I really didn’t mind being alone, but in a few minutes, I saw a car coming down the lane.  It was my father who had never intended to actually leave me there by myself.  He was just out of my sight.  I couldn’t see him but he could see me and thought I would be ready to go home.  I wasn’t, but he made me go.  I was only four years old, after all.  That sleepover was a bust.

“Jesus is like this.  He loves us too much to ever leave us alone. Even when we are in dark places and think he has, or he has forgotten us, he hasn’t.  Christmas has told us that Jesus brings the light with him that we need to see our way.  If you are like me there are times, a minute or two anyway, where you don’t want to leave the place where you are.  But I know that God has better paths on which he invites me to travel than anything I can imagine, and so I, and probably you, go.” – 2013

We are now in the Epiphany season when we celebrate the wise men, following a star, coming to see Jesus at his home. The Covenant that belonged to the Jewish people alone, has been extended to the gentiles, to everyone, to us, as the light of Christ spreads out into the world. Jesus has no one out of his sight, ever, and he loves us, everyone.

Be blessed as you follow the star. Donna

 

Leave a Reply

