A FRIDAY MEDITATION – God Still Wins

Come, people of the Risen King, who delight to bring Him praise;
Come all and tune your hearts to sing to the Morning Star of grace.
From the shifting shadows of the earth we will lift our eyes to Him,
where steady arms of mercy reach to gather children in.
~ Keith & Kristyn Getty, Stuart Townend

This coming Sunday, November 22, is the Last Sunday after Pentecost. It is also known as Christ the King Sunday, and on this day we celebrate Jesus as King over all. The way the world is today, sometimes though, it hardly seems that he is King, and we wonder about that.

Exactly one week ago today, terrorists in Paris reminded us that evil is still rampantly alive in this world.  We have heard in the news of attacks in other places, too. The world seems truly dark with shootings home and abroad.  Every day or several times a day, we hear of these things. It really looks like Evil is stepping up its game. Terrorists promise fear which can immobilize us if we give into it. Where is God in all of this?  Where is our King?  I intend to ask that someday, but right now the only answer we really have is in the Bible (Matthew 24) when Jesus said this would happen, that there will be wars and rumors of wars, earthquakes, nation rising against nation, murder, persecutions, etc., but that is not the end. Yet.  These things are not new. They are repeats.

I’m not going to continue being gloomy about this, because there is nothing that the enemy would like more. So what do we do?  Well, one is that we need to continue to be grateful people.  Thanksgiving is coming this week to help remind us with this.  We are to thank God in all things and circumstances. We have been promised that the King will come again, and that, in a real way, he has already come.  The Kingdom is coming, is here, and not yet here in its fullness.

Come, those whose joy is morning sun, and those weeping through the night;
Come, those who tell of battles won, and those struggling in the fight.
For His perfect love will never change, and His mercies never cease,
But follow us through all our days with the certain hope of peace.

I love the song that I am quoting in this meditation. Actually, it is my meditation for today. It lifts my spirit into the spirit of God so that I remember that we are called to live the Kingdom life, now.  We are to bless and not curse.  We are to pray for friends and for our enemies.  We are to forgive.  When I feel overwhelmed, when I don’t have words to pray, I hold the situation – evil and all – into the light of God.  When I feel my own hate surface, I circle it in my mind and breathe this light into it.  I believe this actually does something.  At least I know it does for me. I don’t think I’m alone in this and it does give me peace. You may have your own way of praying for situations like these.

Come, young and old from every land – men and women of the faith;
Come, those with full or empty hands – find the riches of His grace.
Over all the world, His people sing – shore to shore we hear them call,
The Truth that cries through every age: “Our God is all in all”!

 Advent begins in one more week.  It reminds us that we are a part of the Body of Christ in the world today and that we have Hope; we have a job to do, and Jesus is King! God wins! Amen? Amen.

Rejoice, Rejoice! Let every tongue rejoice! 
One heart, one voice; O Church of Christ, rejoice!

Happy Thanksgiving. Stay Blessed.

Leave a Reply

