A FRIDAY MEDITATION – One of those days

Joyful, joyful we adore thee, God of glory, Lord of love!

Hearts unfold like flow’rs before thee, praising thee, their sun above.

Melt the clouds of sin and sadness, drive the gloom of doubt away.

Giver of immortal gladness, fill us with the light of day.

~ Henry van Dyke, 1852-1922

Today has been one of those days.  Of course, what else could it be?  It is today. The grey, damp and rainy weather is getting to me.  My fibromyalgia is telling me all about it.  Stiff and sore. Fuzzy headed which we all, lovingly, call fibro-fog, etc.  There was, in the past, a funny picture on the Fibromyalgia Facebook site that said:  “So the bills are washed, laundry is paid, clothes are in the oven, and the last load of dinner is in the dryer.  Looks like my to-do list is complete.”  Funny!  Except it is all rather real.  I have found the tomatoes in the frig, the probiotics in the cupboard, the washer and/or the dryer ready to do their thing, with clothes in various stages waiting, but I haven’t started the machines.  I thought I did. I keep dropping things, I left the garage door open for three hours and I stand staring into the closet or the cupboard trying to think why I’m doing that.  You just have to laugh. Or I do.

The problem today, of course, is that I am supposed to write something.  I keep trying to do that even when I can’t think of anything profound to say.  Since I am all achy and rather down, I’ve tried to be positive.  I’ve asked friends on Facebook to send any extra sunshine they may have my way.  They are trying to find some and my husband said he ordered 50 pounds of it from Amazon – it’s supposed to be here on Tuesday.

Well, enough of that.  One thing I can do is remember who I am and who God is.  I can make a list of blessings, practice some gratitude and give thanks.  Someone, I can’t remember who, said that feeling gratitude and not expressing it is like wrapping a present and not giving it. Very true.

In a very few minutes, I thought of and listed the following:

“Thank you for loving me.  Thank you for chasing me down all the days until I noticed you and came to know you are Love.

Thank you for the rain although, just sayin’, I could use a break.

Thank you, Lord, for walking with me, holding me and guiding me.

Thank you for bringing me into a loving spirit-filled community with whom to fellowship, to worship and to work for your Kingdom.

Thank you for soul friends.

Thank you for all my many friends.

Thank you for my family, for giving me the most loving husband, for my children, grandchildren, and great-grandchildren.

Thank you for my mother, my brothers, my sisters, nieces and nephews, etc.  Such a huge clan.

Our home.  We have one. It fits us.  It’s nice.  Thank you.

The cleaning ladies came the other day and everything’s almost squeaky clean.  We do live here after all, so they will need to come back. Thanks for cleaning ladies (and men).

For healing.  Thank you for that. Praise you.

Thank you for the gift of yourself, Jesus.  I am so, so very grateful.”

A few minutes of practicing gratitude and praying thanksgiving to God and I feel so blessed. And uplifted. And grateful.  Try it.  You’ll like it.

Now if I can just remember where I put that thing-a-ma-jig.

Leave a Reply

