Water in the desert

The Church Mouse says on a Facebook post, “Stop!  Take a second to appreciate the gifts you’ve been given today.  What are they?”

It’s a new year (I actually had to change the date on this meditation—the first time, of probably many, to change 2014 to 2015). Happy New Year to you. God Bless you.

Sometimes when I write, my mind gets too full of words, so I putter a while on Facebook or clean the toilet or something. Yesterday was one of those days, and I never actually got all the words on paper until today.  My husband says I get too legalistic (read uptight) about writing “on time” even when I have no words, need to take a break, or am out of town.  Guilty! So…it’s Saturday. Again.

I have been taking a journey through photo files to look at Christmases Past.  Remembering children little and growing big.  Grandchildren the same.  Great-grandchildren still small.  Remembering friends and family – some living far away and some no longer with us.  I look at houses where we have lived, cars we have driven and journeys we have taken.  Trees we have decorated. Faces looking older.  I look at celebrations of all kinds.  Sad moments, too.  All Gifts. Priceless. Thank you, God.

I wrote last night as I thought about the question from Church Mouse:

Gifts given today (Friday)

Trip to Thornton to visit Granddaughter and Great-granddaughters

Husband got to go because he had the day off.

Snow melting into dry, thirsty ground

Water in the river in January

Sun finally out

Blue sky – Yay!!!

Sugared almonds made by granddaughter

Gift cards to restaurants (they know we like these)

Having a break to lift my winter blahs a bit.  Just what I needed.

Smoked salmon on my salad for dinner with a glass of wine

Leftover Italian sausage and beans for breakfast, this Saturday morning (recipe from a Trinity Alpha Cookbook).

It’s good.  I’m blessed.  I’m very grateful. Thank you, Lord.

Driving, or riding, to Thornton always gives me the gift of something on which to meditate.  It’s like a walkabout in a car.  The gift of snow melting into dry ground and river water in January are not really gifts to me, only, but to all of us.  There is water in a dry land where, often, we have none. But as I meditate on this, scripture verses come to mind.

“As the deer pants for streams of water, so my soul pants for you, my God.  My soul thirsts for God, for the living God. When can I go and meet with God?” ~ Psalm 42:1-2

“Then will the lame leap like a deer, and the mute tongue shout for joy. Water will gush forth in the wilderness and streams in the desert.” ~ Isaiah 35:6

“Whoever believes in me, as Scripture has said, rivers of living water will flow from within them.” ~ John 7:38

There it is – my story.  It might be yours, also.  When I am dry and parched for whatever winter reason, I NEED to spend more time with God – he who is often found in unlikely places.  I long for him because only then is it that I can get up (not good at leaping any more) and sing praises. It is only then that rivers of living water will flow. Yes!  Amen.

Thank you, Church Mouse, for your question.  The list helps.  Thank you, Jesus, for your gifts!!

New Year Blessings ~ Donna

Leave a Reply

