Holy Day or holiday?

I will give thanks to Thee O Lord among the people. I will sing praises to Thee among the nations. For Thy steadfast love is great.  It is great to the heavens. And Thy faithfulness, Thy faithfulness to the clouds. Be exalted, O God, above the heavens; let Thy glory be over all the earth. ~ Brent Chambers

I had lunch this week with my great-granddaughter and her mother.  She will be three in a few months and just received her first “big girl” bed – a lovely Minnie Mouse bed.  I had to see this because isn’t she  still a baby? How is this possible? We had a great lunch and enjoyed our time together even though Sarah wasn’t feeling quite up to par.  Good day.  Thank you, Lord.

The drive to visit them always gives me pause if I go slowly enough to notice.  It’s not that I drive over the speed limit, it’s that my mind goes 100 miles an hour.  I try to pay attention so that I can see and, sometimes, hear God’s voice. I want to stay present to the moment as that is the only time we really have.  The past leaves only a memory and the present word has not been spoken.  But in this moment, perhaps I will hear.

Today, there is smog around the edges of the landscape.  An outline of snowcapped mountains can be seen through the haze and vegetation is mostly brown.  The fields are bare and a few patches of snow still remain. At times, in our spiritual lives, smog clouds our vision and we feel barren.  1 Corinthians 13:19 says, “For now we see only a reflection as in a mirror; then we shall see face to face. Now I know in part; then I shall know fully, even as I am fully known.”   The old King James Bible says that “we see through a glass, darkly.” I think of that dark glass. It and the smog cloud my vision.  But the brown fields, although they look barren, are restfully waiting in order to be fruitful when it is time.  I feel their restful waiting in my own soul as I listen, even though I can’t clearly see.

This week is Thanksgiving, so I think about “holidays.” The holidays, and preparation for them have been rushing toward us since shortly after Labor Day and they won’t end until sometime after January 1st, depending if the home team is playing in the Super Bowl. We tend to rush along with the culture in our busy preparations without ever staying in the moment long enough to enjoy the preparations, the day, or without setting any day apart as a “Holy Day” where we can stop, celebrate, and listen for the voice of God.

Advent begins the following Sunday. We can—I can—if I continue to stay in the moment instead of letting my soul be bombarded with hurry, worry and stress, make “Holy Days” out of “holidays.” I can begin with Thanksgiving Day.  We are having dinner with part of our big family which includes many lovely, busy children.  It’s guaranteed to be crazy even as we pause to thank God in all things for his blessings of this past year.  Even so, I hope to rest in the present moment.  I hope to see God in every face, every child’s smile or cry, every barren field and dark glass. I hope that in my resting soul, I will hear his voice.

“Rejoice always, pray continually, give thanks in all circumstance; for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus.” ~  1 Thessalonians 5:16-18

A restful, blessed Thanksgiving Day be yours, ~ Donna

Leave a Reply

