Who’s the Boss of you?

“And the Internet Loud is Not the Boss of You.”

This quote by Ann Voskamp almost jumped off the page at me. Maybe it did jump. The quote is a subtitle to a posting on her blog. I had been trying to catch up on things after being away from home three times in six weeks. That may not seem like much for some, but it is a lot for me. So I’ve been busy.

Ann’s meditation was sparked by her child telling another, “You’re not the boss of me.” I remember those days. The speaking child usually means that the other child can’t tell them what to do. Maybe not even their parents. They want to be in charge of themselves and do their own thing. They want to be boss. I remember our granddaughter when she was around three or four (I have always wanted to put this story into a meditation but it would never fit). Her shoes were in the middle of the room and I had told her several times to put them away. Finally, in exasperation, she said, “Everyone has to be the boss of their own shoes.” Meaning, I suppose, she should be able to leave her shoes where they were or pick them up whenever she wanted. I don’t remember if I moved them out of the middle of the room (probably) or if she finally did. But the fact was, she was determined to be the boss of their whereabouts. 

“The internet loud is not the boss of you.”

The internet is not the boss of me.

Facebook is not the boss of me.

My preparation time for classes and teachings is not the boss of me.

My writing of meditations, essays, articles and blogs is not the boss of me.

My house is not the boss of me.

My crowded agenda is not the boss of me.

My to-do lists are not the boss of me.

Nor of you.

I am not the boss of me. 

The same day, before I read Ann’s blog, I had posted a picture on my Facebook page. It read, “Be still and know that I am God.” God may be trying to say something to me. I am not the boss of me. Jesus is the boss of me. Father is. Spirit is.  The Holy triune God – Trinity is Boss of me. But only if I let Him. Only if I ask him to be.  God will let me do my own thing whenever I want, but if I pay attention, he may be telling me that it’s not a good idea.

I ponder. My early morning hour of prayer has moved off first thing position.  I usually wait until my husband goes to work, so I do a few things and then I’m rushed for prayer. It’s not that I am not up early enough, I am. I want my time with God to be first thing. I need it to be. Unless I spend that first time with God, I will end up letting the world “stuff”, even the good, be the boss of me. It’s easy to let that happen. I will need to make a few changes. I will need to be determined, but it’s important to me and, I believe, God is saying that it’s important to him, too. First things first. After the first thing will come the next. I am not the boss of me.

“Be still and know that I am God” he says.—Psalm 46:10

Blessings in your stillness. ~ Donna

Leave a Reply

