All is Grace

I understand that everyone who writes has times when they are uninspired and have nothing to say.  That has been me this week.  I had a couple of issues to deal with that were guaranteed to convince me that God means business when he said I had to quit stuffing my feelings.  I am learning to pay attention to these, the situations that caused them, and not to bury them in order to see what God has in mind, but I don’t want to write about that.  That was a Lenten project.

Yesterday, I spent all day at the hospital with my husband who had minor surgery.  The plan was for him to come home last night.  But the doctor was three hours behind schedule. We spent a total of five hours in pre-op and Dave ended up spending the night.  He is home now not much the worse for wear.  Last night I was sore and exhausted, and I hadn’t done anything.  This morning, I reflected on it all.  This was not a serious surgery and I didn’t stay at the hospital nearly as long as other people often have to do.  So…..

I spent part of the day, yesterday, saying whiny prayers mostly under my breath.  Maybe you know the kind.  “Why can’t they get this show on the road?” “Can’t we just get this over with?”  Why do we have another severe thunderstorm watch with possible tornadoes?  You know how I feel about that.”  “Why don’t hospitals have heat?”  “Please don’t let it hail on our new car.”  “Etc., Etc.  Please get me home in this downpour.”  I am grateful that God is a good listener.  He didn’t chastise me or tell me I should be grateful and thankful in all things.  He may have nodded his head a time or two.

I don’t want to be a whiny grump (see Philippians 2:14-15).  I want to be appreciative and look for the good and I did send up a “Thank you” or two, especially when I pulled into the garage last evening in the middle of the storm.  As I started checking my email and writing notes, I began to recall things for which I was grateful this day.  And I wrote them down.

I am grateful for my husband and that his surgery went well.

I am thankful for my family.

I thank God for the prayers of friends and the friends themselves who are so caring.

I am thankful for Facebook so that I could send updates when there were enough bars on the phone to send anything.

I am grateful for Barb, the patient liaison, who brought me coffee and a warmed blanket.

I am thankful for the hot coffee and warm blanket she brought.

I am grateful for breakfast cookies, protein bars, and good hospital food – salmon and cheesecake

I am grateful for valet parking at hospitals so that I didn’t have to walk around in the rain getting to the car.

I thank God that I have hot showers and warm beds.

I am full of thanksgiving that God is involved in it all.  And that was just yesterday. I could have listed more.

Colossians 2:6-7 states, “So then, just as you received Christ Jesus as Lord, continue to live your lives in him, rooted and built up in him, strengthened in the faith as you were taught, and overflowing with thankfulness.” There’s so much to be thankful for—every breath, grass, iris, puppies, purple mountains, – every thing.  And all is Grace.  Thank you, God. I am grateful.

Leave a Reply

