So, why am I here?

Psychiatrist, M. Scott Peck, opened his book, THE ROAD LESS TRAVELED, with this paragraph, “Life is difficult.”  That is the whole paragraph so it catches one’s attention.  I immediately added, “Yes, and life is also complicated.”

I spent this morning in Urgent Care with my husband who was having a pretty severe allergic reaction to yet another antibiotic.  I started to get irritated because, even though we were the first person in UC, it was 45 minutes before we saw a doctor.  My husband didn’t feel good and I had other things I had planned to do.  So did he, so I fretted and stewed.  Just before the doctor came in, I remembered to take a deep breath and ask myself, “Ok, why are we here, besides the obvious, that is?”  I started to pray for the woman in the next cubicle who sounded pretty sick, then I sat and tried to listen for the next few minutes until the doctor came in.  After about 10 minutes, we were finished.  Life is complicated.  Is that why we have so much trouble with our focus?  One of the reasons we were there was, I believe, to remember to ask the question, “So why am I here?” and to pray for someone.

We, in The Daughters of the King, are working with the book, SIMPLICITY, by Mindy Caliguire.  She does not necessarily talk about de-cluttering our homes and schedules, though she does that, but about having a single focus on God and doing away with those things that get in the way.  She will give us some thoughts on how to do this.  Jesus gives us his words, “…do not worry about your life, what you will eat or drink; or about your body, what you will wear…Can any one of you by worrying add a single hour to your life? …but seek first his kingdom and his righteousness, and all these things will be given to you as well…therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own.”—verses from Matthew 6

I believe that Jesus’ words speak to simplicity.  Many of our complications come from struggling with how we will provide for ourselves, what we think we need to be happy, and to get along.  Jesus tells us that when we let our single focus be on Him and the Kingdom, what we need will be there.  Many of us have much more than we need and many other things, also, distract us from Jesus and his will for us.   Lent is coming up in a few days, believe it or not, which is a perfect time to take a good look at  the things that clutter our lives—to spend time with Jesus and to stay in the moment.  I plan to try to do that. Then, we can ask, “Lord, why am I here right now?  What would you have me do in your Kingdom?

Leave a Reply

